Craigslist — research brief

Labels: FACT = company source · SECONDARY = press / analyst · INFERENCE = our reading.

Company

Footprint

Monetization (FACT, posting fees)

Source: Posting fees (live help page).

All craigslist postings are free, except:

Visa, MasterCard, Amex accepted; paid posting accounts for high-volume posters. No banner advertising on the site (FACT, mission/history “no ads”; company culture).

Financials (SECONDARY — company does not disclose)

Craigslist does not publish revenue. External estimates:

Atlas ranking figure used: calendar / FY2024 estimated revenue $302M (SECONDARY, AIM Group). Not company-audited.

International

Not found / not used

# Craigslist — research brief

Labels: **FACT** = company source · **SECONDARY** = press / analyst · **INFERENCE** = our reading.

## Company
- Local classifieds and forums website; community-moderated and largely free (FACT, [craigslist factsheet archive](https://web.archive.org/web/20170126054355/https://www.craigslist.org/about/factsheet); [mission and history](https://www.craigslist.org/about/mission_and_history)).
- Started as Craig Newmark’s San Francisco events email list in early 1995; became www.craigslist.org; incorporated as a for-profit in 1999 (FACT, mission and history; factsheet).
- Jim Buckmaster has been CEO since 2000; headquarters San Francisco, CA (FACT, factsheet).
- Uses a `.org` domain by choice to signal a relatively non-commercial, public-service culture (FACT, factsheet).
- Private company; does **not** publish audited financial statements (FACT / company practice).

## Footprint
- **714** local city/area sites listed on [craigslist.org/about/sites](https://www.craigslist.org/about/sites) as of research date (FACT, live sites index; counted area links). Continents: US, Canada, Europe, Asia/Pacific/Middle East, Oceania, Latin America, Africa.
- Older company factsheet: “more than 700 local sites in **70 countries**”; “40-some” staff in San Francisco; well over 80M classified ads/month; >1M new job listings/month; >60M monthly users in the US alone; >50B page views/month (FACT at time of factsheet, [archived factsheet](https://web.archive.org/web/20170126054355/https://www.craigslist.org/about/factsheet) — traffic/user counts are dated).
- Wikipedia (SECONDARY): ~90% of visitors from the United States; languages include English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and others.

## Monetization (FACT, posting fees)
Source: [Posting fees](https://www.craigslist.org/about/help/posting_fees) (live help page).

All craigslist postings are free, **except**:
- Job categories in US and parts of CA — **$10–75** (varies by area)
- Apartment rentals in Boston, Chicago, and NYC areas — **$5**
- Commercial real estate in the US — **$5**
- All for-sale by-dealer categories in the US — **$5**
- Cars/trucks by-dealer in the US, Vancouver BC — **$5**
- Furniture by-dealer in Vancouver BC — **$5**
- Cars/trucks, RVs, and motorcycles by-owner in the US — **$5**
- Gigs in US and selected CA areas — **$3–10**
- Services in US and CA — **$5**

Visa, MasterCard, Amex accepted; paid posting accounts for high-volume posters. No banner advertising on the site (FACT, mission/history “no ads”; company culture).

## Financials (SECONDARY — company does not disclose)
Craigslist does not publish revenue. External estimates:
- **Calendar 2024 estimated revenue ~$302M** (AIM Group via ResearchAndMarkets / Business Wire “2025 Craigslist Report,” Apr–May 2025) — down ~20% vs prior year per AIM Group EIN Presswire summary; less than half of AIM’s 2021 estimate ($660M) and under one-third of AIM’s 2018 peak ($1.035B) (SECONDARY).
- Mix attributed by AIM for 2024: **job ads ~35.6%**, **services ~31%**, **auto ads ~20.3%** of revenue (SECONDARY).
- Statista chart (citing multiple publications, released Oct 2024): revenue ~**$694M** in **2022 and 2023** after rebound from ~$566M in 2020 and ~$1B in 2018 (SECONDARY, [Statista](https://www.statista.com/statistics/1337173/craigslist-revenue/)). Prefer AIM’s more recent 2024 estimate for the latest full-year figure; treat all as estimates.
- Historical commentary: ultra-lean staff (~40–50), no marketing/sales team, high margins in peak years (SECONDARY, AIM Group commentary via Business Wire / press).

**Atlas ranking figure used:** calendar / FY2024 estimated revenue **$302M** (SECONDARY, AIM Group). Not company-audited.

## International
- Home market: United States (HQ SF; vast majority of paid categories are US/Canada-specific on the fee page) (FACT + INFERENCE on paid-fee geography).
- Entry mode: company-operated local city websites (digital-only; no physical store network) (FACT, sites index).
- No disclosed revenue-by-country. Traffic proxy: ~90% US visitors (SECONDARY, Wikipedia citing Alexa-era stats — dated).

## Not found / not used
- No primary-source full-year revenue, ARR, valuation, or current headcount from Craigslist.
- Do not invent profitability %; AIM’s “wildly profitable” is qualitative SECONDARY commentary only.
- Do not annualize any quarterly figure (none disclosed by company).