Educational notes for the BMC. Not affiliated with lululemon athletica inc. Facts are labeled. Public company (NASDAQ: LULU) — financials cite SEC filings and the company's own earnings releases only. Do not invent Membership counts (lululemon does not disclose them; Membership is free to join).
Vertical premium apparel + community flywheel — ambassadors, studios, and run clubs build demand locally → guests buy full-price through ~811–825 owned stores and e-commerce (≈90% of revenue) → free spend-tiered Membership keeps them coming back → China and Rest of World now carry growth while the Americas slows.
# lululemon athletica inc. — research brief Educational notes for the BMC. **Not affiliated with lululemon athletica inc.** Facts are labeled. Public company (NASDAQ: LULU) — financials cite SEC filings and the company's own earnings releases only. Do not invent Membership counts (lululemon does not disclose them; Membership is free to join). ## FACT — primary ### Fiscal 2025 (52 weeks ended February 1, 2026) — Form 10-K + Q4 release (Mar 17, 2026) - **Net revenue $11.103B**, +5% (+7% excluding the 53rd week in 2024). Comparable sales +2% (Americas −3%; International +15%). - **Gross margin 56.6%** (−260 bps). **Operating margin 19.9%** (−380 bps). **Net income $1.579B**; diluted EPS $13.26. - **By channel:** company-operated stores **$5.050B**, e-commerce **$4.919B**, other channels **$1.134B**. - **By category:** women's apparel **$6.995B (63%)**, men's apparel **$2.664B (24%)**, accessories & other (incl. footwear, legacy lululemon Studio) **$1.443B (13%)**. - **By segment:** Americas **$7.847B (71%, −1.0%)**; China Mainland **$1.755B (16%, +28.9%)**; Rest of World (APAC + EMEA) **$1.501B (13%, +15.6%)**. - **Stores:** 811 company-operated (US 379, Canada 71, Mexico 26, China Mainland 172, APAC 114, EMEA 49) + **45** third-party license-and-supply locations (mostly Middle East). **58 outlets**. Sales per square foot **$1,426** (vs $1,574 in 2024). - **Other channels** (10-K): temporary/pop-up locations, wholesale (fitness studios, athletic organizations, corporate sales, university campus retailers, co-branded), outlets, **Like New** re-commerce (trade-in for merchandise credit, resold at likenew.lululemon.com), license-and-supply partners. - **Omni-channel:** buy online pick up in store, "back-back room", ship from store, cross-channel returns, one inventory pool. E-commerce includes websites, the mobile app, WeChat store (China), and third-party marketplaces. - **Sourcing:** owns no factories. ~**51** product vendors (top five = 47% of production; largest 15%); products made 40% Vietnam, 18% Cambodia, 11% Sri Lanka, 11% Indonesia, 7% Bangladesh. ~**65** fabric suppliers (top five = 48%); fabrics 34% Taiwan, 29% China Mainland, 10% South Korea, 10% Vietnam. Proprietary fabrics protected via agreements, trademarks, trade secrets. - **Distribution:** owned DC in Groveport, Ohio; leased DCs in US/Canada/Australia; third-party logistics elsewhere. - **SG&A $4.067B** (36.6% of revenue). Advertising expense **$617.5M** (vs $541.5M); distribution costs $359.7M. - **Seasonality:** ~37% of full-year operating profit came in Q4 2025. - **Employees:** ~**39,000** worldwide (Feb 1, 2026). - **lululemon Studio:** ceased selling the Mirror and new digital subscriptions in Dec 2023; Peloton became exclusive digital content provider to existing Studio subscribers. - **Marketing:** "owned and paid channels, our ambassador network, events, and content" across yoga, pilates, running, training, golf, tennis. ### Latest quarter — Q2 fiscal 2026 (ended Aug 2, 2026; release Sep 3, 2026) - Net revenue **$2.416B, −4%**; comparable sales **−9%**; Americas −8% (comps −12%); International +4%. - Gross margin 60.5% includes **$134.5M IEEPA tariff refunds** (+560 bps). - **825** company-operated stores. Cash $1.4B. - FY2026 outlook cut to **$10.35–$10.50B (−5% to −7%)**; EPS $9.48–$9.73. - Interim co-CEOs Meghan Frank and André Maestrini; incoming CEO **Heidi O'Neill** announced in the release. ### lululemon Membership (shop.lululemon.com — US & Canada) - **Free to join** with name + email. Levels by yearly spend: **Collective** (up to $500), **Plus** (up to $1,000), **Pinnacle** ($1,000+). - Benefits include early access to product drops (app), free hemming, exchange/credit on sale items, receipt-free returns, member-only experiences, partner perks, select Peloton classes; higher levels add exclusive products, personal shopper, first access to restocks, complimentary customization. - Programs: Sweat Collective (25% off for fitness professionals, by application), military & first responder 15% discount. ## SECONDARY - Ambassador program structure (global vs store ambassadors) from lululemon corporate "Community Engagement" page and store job postings (Community Specialist role manages ambassadors, Sweat Collective, studio owners, product seeding). - Q2 FY26 call (Motley Fool transcript) for color only — numbers above come from the release. ## INFERENCE (labeled on the canvas) - lululemon is a **vertical retailer**: it designs and sells mostly through its own stores and e-commerce (~90% of FY25 revenue), unlike Nike's wholesale-heavy model. That control is why gross margin sits in the high-50s. - Ambassadors and store community events act as a **low-cost acquisition engine** and product feedback loop; their cost is mostly inside SG&A/advertising, not broken out. - Free Membership tiers reward spend rather than charging a fee — it is a retention/data layer, not a revenue line. - 2026 story = Americas full-price softness + tariffs vs International (China) growth. ## Not found — do not invent - Member counts, app MAU, ambassador counts, per-ambassador spend, Like New revenue, wholesale revenue split inside "other channels". ## Teaching arc **Vertical premium apparel + community flywheel** — ambassadors, studios, and run clubs build demand locally → guests buy full-price through ~811–825 owned stores and e-commerce (≈90% of revenue) → free spend-tiered Membership keeps them coming back → China and Rest of World now carry growth while the Americas slows. ## Sources - https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1397187/000139718726000020/lulu-20260201.htm - https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1397187/000139718726000019/lulu-20260201xex991.htm - https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1397187/000139718726000126/lulu-20260802xex991.htm - https://corporate.lululemon.com/newsroom/press-releases/2026/09-03-2026-210528733 - https://shop.lululemon.com/membership - https://corporate.lululemon.com/our-business/innovation/community-engagement - https://likenew.lululemon.com