Notion Labs — Business Model Canvas Research Brief

Company: Notion Labs, Inc. (product: Notion)
Website: https://www.notion.com / https://www.notion.so
Research date: Sunday, Sep 20, 2026 (America/Chicago)
Purpose: Fact-based brief to drive all 9 Osterwalder BMC blocks for a professional poster
Method: Primary sources preferred (notion.com pricing, about, blog, help, partners); secondary sources labeled when used for private-company financials

How to read this brief

Notion is a private company; it does not publish SEC 10-K-style financials. Revenue, ARR, valuation (except tender announcements), and headcount should be treated as reported estimates unless Notion itself discloses them.


Company snapshot (context for the canvas)

Founding story (brief)

Funding / valuation highlights

Event Detail Date Source type
Series C $275M at ~$10B valuation; led by Coatue & Sequoia (widely reported) Oct 2021 SECONDARY (press / research consensus)
Total primary capital Roughly ~$330M–$344M raised to date; no new primary round since 2021 Through 2025–26 SECONDARY (CNBC/BI Sep 2025; CB Insights; Sacra)
Employee tender ~$270M secondary; $11B valuation; buyers: GIC (new), Sequoia, Index Ventures; shares bought from employees Announced Jan 26, 2026 FACT — Notion CFO Rama Katkar (Notion blog)
Pre-announcement coverage Forbes (Dec 15, 2025) reported employee share sale at $11B / ~$300M size, citing people familiar Dec 15, 2025 SECONDARY (Forbes)

Scale signals (do not invent; cite)

Metric Figure When Source / caveat
Users 100M+ Passed Aug 2024 (announced Sep 3, 2024) FACT — Ivan Zhao / Notion blog (100 Million of You)
ARR / annualized revenue ~$500M annualized ~Sep 2025 SECONDARY — company told CNBC (Disruptor 50), per Business Insider write-up
ARR Passed ~$600M ARR; ~half tied to AI products ~Dec 2025 SECONDARY — Forbes citing people familiar (Forbes Dec 15, 2025)
AI share of ARR >50% of ARR from AI-enabled customers; share more than doubled YoY End of 2025 FACT — Notion CFO blog Jan 26, 2026
Cash flow Cash-flow positive (reported) Late 2025 SECONDARY — Forbes; also consistent with Kothari comment that cash on hand exceeds capital raised (CNBC/BI Sep 2025)
Employees ~1,000 ~Sep 2025 SECONDARY — Business Insider / CNBC reporting
Paying customers / Fortune 500 Claims of millions of paying customers / Fortune 500 usage appear in research summaries 2025 SECONDARY / unverified in this pass — treat cautiously (e.g. Contrary Research)
Usage mix ~90% of business from “multiplayer” (teams) Sep 2025 SECONDARY — Akshay Kothari quoted (CNBC/BI)

Notable strategic product moves

Competitive position (summary)


The 9 Business Model Canvas blocks


1. Customer Segments

Poster bullets (evidence-backed)

Evidence strength: Strong for plan-defined segments and education; moderate for ICP/enterprise motion (interview + case studies); moderate for revenue mix % (press quote).


2. Value Propositions

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong for product promises and AI/security features; moderate for competitive differentiation (category analysis).


3. Channels

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong for web/PLG/partners/templates; moderate for sales scaling details (press).


4. Customer Relationships

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong.


5. Revenue Streams

Poster bullets (current plan names & prices — verify live page before printing final poster)

Note on AI packaging change: Multiple 2025–26 explainers state standalone Notion AI add-on was retired (~May 2025) and full AI moved into Business+. Confirm vs current pricing page for poster. — SECONDARY historical packaging

Evidence strength: Strong for official plan prices and credit pricing; moderate for monthly rates and historical AI add-on timeline.


6. Key Resources

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong for product/brand/investors/compliance; moderate for headcount; inferred for network effects.


7. Key Activities

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong.


8. Key Partners

Poster bullets

Evidence strength: Strong for AWS, connectors, partners, investors named by Notion; moderate for exact LLM vendor mix over time.


9. Cost Structure

Poster bullets (qualitative — exact $ breakdown not publicly disclosed)

Evidence strength: Moderate overall (strong on categories; weak on dollar amounts — none fabricated).


Poster-ready one-liners

Canvas headline:
“Notion — the AI workspace where teams build their tools, knowledge, and agents in one place.”

Block Short label text
Customer Segments Solo builders → students → startups → mid-market teams → security-minded enterprises (bottom-up)
Value Propositions All-in-one docs, databases & projects + AI agents that work where your knowledge already lives
Channels PLG website & apps · templates/community · partners · enterprise sales · integrations
Customer Relationships Freemium self-serve · education & creators · consultants · Enterprise CSM
Revenue Streams Per-seat Free/Plus/Business/Enterprise + Notion credits for Custom Agents
Key Resources Block platform & AI IP · brand/community · talent · AWS + compliance · investor backing
Key Activities Ship product & AI · grow PLG+sales · enable ecosystem · harden security
Key Partners AWS · LLM providers · Slack/Google/Microsoft/GitHub… · creators & Solutions Partners · Sequoia/Index/GIC
Cost Structure R&D · AI inference · cloud · S&M · support/CS · compliance (qualitative)

Sources (URLs used)

Primary — Notion

  1. https://www.notion.com/pricing — Plans, prices, AI/credits, FAQ (fetched Sep 20, 2026)
  2. https://www.notion.com/about — Founding philosophy / value framing
  3. https://www.notion.com/product/ai — Notion AI, Agent, credits, security claims
  4. https://www.notion.com/product/notion-for-education — Education segments & free Plus
  5. https://www.notion.com/templates — Marketplace (30,000+ templates), consultants
  6. https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program — Consulting & channel partners
  7. https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-connectors — Integration partners list
  8. https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy — AWS hosting, encryption, compliance
  9. https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you — 100M users (Sep 3, 2024); founding reflections
  10. https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares — $270M tender, $11B, AI ARR share (Jan 26, 2026)
  11. https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-calendar — Calendar launch (Jan 17, 2024)
  12. https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-mail — Mail launch (Apr 15, 2025)
  13. https://www.notion.com/blog/notion-acquires-cron — Cron acquisition (Jun 9, 2022)
  14. https://www.notion.com/blog/meet-skiff-the-newest-member-of-the-notion-family — Skiff acquisition (Feb 9, 2024)
  15. https://www.notion.com/releases/2024-06-25 — Notion Sites (Jun 25, 2024)
  16. https://www.notion.com/blog/first-block-with-ivan-zhao-simon-last — Founders podcast/blog (Mar 21, 2024)
  17. https://www.notion.com/customers/cursor — Enterprise customer story
  18. https://www.notion.com/customers/dana-indonesia — Enterprise/tool-consolidation story
  19. https://trust.notion.com/ — Trust Center (SOC/ISO references)

Secondary — Press & research

  1. https://www.forbes.com/sites/annatong/2025/12/15/notion-kicks-off-employee-share-sale-at-11-billion-valuation-as-ai-accelerates-its-growth/ — ~$600M ARR, AI share, cash-flow positive, $11B tender kickoff (Dec 15, 2025)
  2. Business Insider / CNBC Disruptor 50 coverage (~Sep 18, 2025) — ~$500M annualized revenue, ~1,000 employees, 100M+ users, ~90% multiplayer (via syndicated write-ups)
  3. https://techcrunch.com/2024/01/17/notion-launches-a-calendar-app/ — Calendar coverage
  4. https://techcrunch.com/2024/02/09/notion-acquires-privacy-focused-productivity-platform-skiff/ — Skiff acquisition
  5. https://techcrunch.com/2021/09/08/notion-acquires-indias-automate-io-in-push-to-accelerate-product-expansion/ — Automate.io
  6. https://techcrunch.com/2024/06/25/notion-sites/ — Sites coverage
  7. https://research.contrary.com/report/notion — Founding story, competition, business model synthesis (updated Jan 15, 2026) — use carefully for non-primary metrics
  8. https://sacra.com/c/notion/ — Third-party ARR/valuation estimates (label as estimates)
  9. https://www.akashbajwa.co/p/notions-journey-from-plg-to-the-enterprise — PLG→enterprise GTM interview (Robbie O’Connor)
  10. https://www.usecarly.com/blog/notion-pricing/ — Secondary pricing explainer (monthly rates / AI packaging history)
  11. https://www.cbinsights.com/company/notion-labs — Funding totals / secondary market listing

Research quality checklist

Criterion Status
All 9 BMC blocks filled Yes
Claims grounded in URLs Yes
FACT vs SECONDARY vs INFERENCE labeled Yes
No fabricated ARR/valuation/headcount Yes — only cited reported figures
Official pricing captured Yes (Free / Plus $10 / Business $20 / Enterprise custom / credits $10 per 1k)
File path /workspace/notion-bmc-research.md

Poster production tip: Re-fetch https://www.notion.com/pricing the day you lock artwork — Notion has changed AI packaging and credit effective dates through 2025–2026.

# Notion Labs — Business Model Canvas Research Brief

**Company:** Notion Labs, Inc. (product: Notion)  
**Website:** https://www.notion.com / https://www.notion.so  
**Research date:** Sunday, Sep 20, 2026 (America/Chicago)  
**Purpose:** Fact-based brief to drive all 9 Osterwalder BMC blocks for a professional poster  
**Method:** Primary sources preferred (notion.com pricing, about, blog, help, partners); secondary sources labeled when used for private-company financials  

**How to read this brief**  
- **FACT** = stated by Notion or a named, dated credible outlet quoting company/people familiar with the matter  
- **SECONDARY / REPORTED** = reputable press or research summarizing private metrics (not audited public filings)  
- **INFERENCE** = logical business-model interpretation grounded in facts above; not a measured claim  

Notion is a private company; it does not publish SEC 10-K-style financials. Revenue, ARR, valuation (except tender announcements), and headcount should be treated as **reported estimates** unless Notion itself discloses them.

---

## Company snapshot (context for the canvas)

### Founding story (brief)
- **FACT:** Notion was founded in **2013** by **Ivan Zhao** (CEO) and **Simon Last** (CTO). Early vision: “LEGO of productivity tools” / building blocks so non-technical people can make their own tools. ([Contrary Research](https://research.contrary.com/report/notion), updated Jan 15, 2026; [Notion blog — 100 Million of You](https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you), Sep 3, 2024)
- **FACT:** After early tech-stack failure, founders rebuilt in Kyoto; product gained traction with Product Hunt era launches; Zhao recounts rebuilding multiple times and Japan rewrite of the codebase (“notion-next”). ([Notion blog — 100 Million of You](https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you), Sep 3, 2024)
- **FACT:** **Akshay Kothari** (ex-Pulse/LinkedIn) joined as COO / co-founder figure and hosts Notion founder content; Notion’s own “First Block” series describes him as co-founder. ([Notion blog — First Block](https://www.notion.com/blog/first-block-with-ivan-zhao-simon-last), Mar 21, 2024)
- **FACT (mission framing):** About page positions Notion as an all-in-one workspace that blends workflows (tasks, roadmaps, design repos) into customizable building blocks — reacting against tab sprawl of email/Slack/Docs. ([notion.com/about](https://www.notion.com/about))

### Funding / valuation highlights
| Event | Detail | Date | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series C | **$275M** at **~$10B** valuation; led by Coatue & Sequoia (widely reported) | Oct 2021 | SECONDARY (press / research consensus) |
| Total primary capital | Roughly **~$330M–$344M** raised to date; no new primary round since 2021 | Through 2025–26 | SECONDARY (CNBC/BI Sep 2025; CB Insights; Sacra) |
| Employee tender | **~$270M** secondary; **$11B** valuation; buyers: **GIC** (new), **Sequoia**, **Index Ventures**; shares bought from employees | Announced **Jan 26, 2026** | **FACT — Notion CFO Rama Katkar** ([Notion blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares)) |
| Pre-announcement coverage | Forbes (Dec 15, 2025) reported employee share sale at $11B / ~$300M size, citing people familiar | Dec 15, 2025 | SECONDARY ([Forbes](https://www.forbes.com/sites/annatong/2025/12/15/notion-kicks-off-employee-share-sale-at-11-billion-valuation-as-ai-accelerates-its-growth/)) |

### Scale signals (do not invent; cite)
| Metric | Figure | When | Source / caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Users | **100M+** | Passed **Aug 2024** (announced Sep 3, 2024) | **FACT — Ivan Zhao / Notion blog** ([100 Million of You](https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you)) |
| ARR / annualized revenue | **~$500M** annualized | ~Sep 2025 | SECONDARY — company told CNBC (Disruptor 50), per Business Insider write-up |
| ARR | **Passed ~$600M** ARR; ~half tied to AI products | ~Dec 2025 | SECONDARY — Forbes citing people familiar ([Forbes Dec 15, 2025](https://www.forbes.com/sites/annatong/2025/12/15/notion-kicks-off-employee-share-sale-at-11-billion-valuation-as-ai-accelerates-its-growth/)) |
| AI share of ARR | **>50% of ARR from AI-enabled customers**; share **more than doubled** YoY | End of 2025 | **FACT — Notion CFO blog** Jan 26, 2026 |
| Cash flow | Cash-flow positive (reported) | Late 2025 | SECONDARY — Forbes; also consistent with Kothari comment that cash on hand exceeds capital raised (CNBC/BI Sep 2025) |
| Employees | **~1,000** | ~Sep 2025 | SECONDARY — Business Insider / CNBC reporting |
| Paying customers / Fortune 500 | Claims of millions of paying customers / Fortune 500 usage appear in research summaries | 2025 | SECONDARY / unverified in this pass — treat cautiously (e.g. Contrary Research) |
| Usage mix | ~**90%** of business from “multiplayer” (teams) | Sep 2025 | SECONDARY — Akshay Kothari quoted (CNBC/BI) |

### Notable strategic product moves
- **Notion AI** (generative AI in-workspace; evolved into Agent, Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search, Custom Agents / credits). Pricing: full AI on Business/Enterprise; Free/Plus = limited trial. ([notion.com/pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [notion.com/product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai))
- **Acquisitions:** Automate.io (Sep 2021 — integrations / Hyderabad eng); Cron (Jun 2022 → Notion Calendar Jan 2024); Flowdash (2022); Skiff (Feb 2024 → privacy/mail tech; Mail launched Apr 2025). ([Notion blogs](https://www.notion.com/blog/notion-acquires-cron); [TechCrunch Skiff](https://techcrunch.com/2024/02/09/notion-acquires-privacy-focused-productivity-platform-skiff/); [Notion Mail blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-mail))
- **Notion Sites** — publish Notion pages as sites (custom domains, SEO, analytics). Released **Jun 25, 2024**. ([Notion releases 2.42](https://www.notion.com/releases/2024-06-25))
- **Notion Calendar** — Cron rebranded; free; Google Calendar connect. **Jan 17, 2024**. ([Notion Calendar blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-calendar))
- **Notion Mail** — AI inbox for Gmail; **Apr 15, 2025**. ([Notion Mail blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-mail))
- **Custom Agents + Notion credits** — consumption pricing **$10 / 1,000 credits** (after free trial window). Workers Beta extends code/sync. ([notion.com/pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing))
- **APAC expansion** — Singapore office; regional offices Tokyo, Seoul, Sydney (CFO blog Jan 2026).

### Competitive position (summary)
- **FACT (product positioning):** All-in-one AI workspace for docs, wikis, projects, databases, sites, calendar, mail — “one tool to run your company.” ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing))
- **Competitors (market mapping — INFERENCE grounded in category):** Atlassian Confluence (+Jira stack); Microsoft 365 / Loop / SharePoint; Google Workspace Docs; Coda (acquired by Grammarly / Superhuman ecosystem per research); Airtable; ClickUp; Monday.com; specialized PM tools.
- **Strengths (INFERENCE from product + GTM facts):** Flexible block/database model; strong PLG + community/templates; AI bundled into mid/upper tiers; expanding surface area (Calendar, Mail, Sites, Agents).
- **Risks (INFERENCE):** Incumbent suite distribution (Microsoft/Google/Atlassian); enterprise procurement vs PLG roots; AI cost of goods vs seat pricing; competition from “AI everything” productivity apps.

---

# The 9 Business Model Canvas blocks

---

## 1. Customer Segments

**Poster bullets (evidence-backed)**
- **Individuals / personal productivity** — Free plan explicitly “for individuals to organize personal projects and life”; unlimited pages/blocks for solo Free users. ([notion.com/pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Students & educators** — Education Plus (1-member) free with school email; student orgs can get free Plus for members at verified institutions; Campus Leaders program. ([Notion for Education](https://www.notion.com/product/notion-for-education); pricing FAQ) — **FACT**
- **Small teams & professionals** — Plus plan: “For small teams and professionals to work together.” ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Growing businesses / mid-market** — Business (Recommended): “For growing businesses to streamline teamwork”; includes Agent, SSO, private teamspaces. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Large organizations / enterprise** — Enterprise: scalability, SCIM, audit log, CSM, DLP/SIEM, zero retention with LLM providers, HIPAA-capable with BAA. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [security help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy); [AI product](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**
- **Bottom-up enterprise departments** — Documented GTM: small teams adopt → expand → sales-assist for company-wide deals (PLG → enterprise). ([Robbie O’Connor interview summary](https://www.akashbajwa.co/p/notions-journey-from-plg-to-the-enterprise)) — **FACT (interview)** / pattern **INFERENCE** as ICP
- **Startups / tech-forward companies** — Customer stories include Cursor, OpenAI (testimonial on pricing), Ramp, DANA Indonesia, etc. ([notion.com/customers/cursor](https://www.notion.com/customers/cursor); pricing page quote) — **FACT (named customers)**
- **Team-heavy revenue mix** — ~90% of business from multiplayer/team usage (Kothari, Sep 2025). — **SECONDARY**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for plan-defined segments and education; **moderate** for ICP/enterprise motion (interview + case studies); **moderate** for revenue mix % (press quote).

---

## 2. Value Propositions

**Poster bullets**
- **All-in-one workspace** — Docs, databases, projects/tasks, wikis, forms, sites, calendar, and mail in one connected system vs. tab sprawl. ([about](https://www.notion.com/about); [pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Building-block / “LEGO” customization** — Pages composed of blocks; users build their own tools without code; databases with views (table, board, calendar, etc.). ([about](https://www.notion.com/about); Zhao 100M post) — **FACT**
- **AI teammate in the workspace** — Notion Agent (multi-step work), AI Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search across connected apps, writing/autofill; Custom Agents for recurring automation. ([product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**
- **Publish & communicate** — Notion Sites (web publishing), Notion Calendar (time layer), Notion Mail (AI inbox). ([Sites release](https://www.notion.com/releases/2024-06-25); [Calendar](https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-calendar); [Mail](https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-mail)) — **FACT**
- **Knowledge consolidation / tool shrinking** — Customer narratives (e.g., Cursor “OS,” DANA tool consolidation) emphasize single source of truth and fewer tools. ([customers/cursor](https://www.notion.com/customers/cursor); [customers/dana-indonesia](https://www.notion.com/customers/dana-indonesia)) — **FACT (customer claims)**
- **Enterprise trust** — SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 family, GDPR/CCPA mapping, encryption, Enterprise zero data retention with LLM providers, HIPAA for Enterprise with BAA. ([product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai); [security](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy)) — **FACT**
- **Vs. competitors (positioning INFERENCE)** — Vs Confluence: more flexible docs+databases+AI for general knowledge work; vs Google Docs: structured databases + workspace OS; vs Coda/Airtable: broader wiki/docs + consumer PLG brand; vs Monday/Asana: deeper docs/wiki with PM views rather than PM-first. — **INFERENCE**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for product promises and AI/security features; **moderate** for competitive differentiation (category analysis).

---

## 3. Channels

**Poster bullets**
- **Website & self-serve signup** — Primary acquisition via notion.com; pricing and product pages drive upgrades. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Product-led growth (PLG)** — Free tier → invite guests/members → paid seats; classic B2C2B / bottom-up adoption. ([education](https://www.notion.com/product/notion-for-education); GTM interview) — **FACT + INFERENCE**
- **Desktop & mobile apps / app stores** — Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, web (widely documented product availability). — **FACT** (product distribution)
- **Content, SEO & community** — Template Marketplace (30,000+ templates), blog, Notion Academy, Campus Leaders, creator ecosystem. ([templates](https://www.notion.com/templates); Zhao 100M post on creators) — **FACT**
- **Sales & sales-assist** — Enterprise custom pricing; growing sales motion; Kothari noted doubling sales capacity (Sep 2025 press). ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); BI/CNBC) — **FACT / SECONDARY**
- **Solutions / channel partners** — Consulting Partners (implement) and Channel Partners (resell); partner directory, MDF, certifications. ([Solutions Partner Program](https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program)) — **FACT**
- **Integrations as distribution** — Slack, Google, Microsoft, GitHub, Jira, etc., keep Notion in existing workflows (AI Connectors). ([AI Connectors help](https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-connectors)) — **FACT**
- **Geographic / APAC offices** — Singapore HQ expansion narrative; Tokyo, Seoul, Sydney offices. ([CFO tender blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares)) — **FACT**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for web/PLG/partners/templates; **moderate** for sales scaling details (press).

---

## 4. Customer Relationships

**Poster bullets**
- **Freemium / always-free tier** — No credit card required for Free; individuals get unlimited blocks; teams hit block limits that nudge upgrade. ([pricing FAQ](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Self-serve billing** — Credit/debit cards; monthly or annual; seat prorations; in-app plan changes. ([pricing FAQ](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Education relationship** — Free Education Plus for eligible students/educators; free Plus for student orgs; Campus Leaders community. ([Notion for Education](https://www.notion.com/product/notion-for-education)) — **FACT**
- **Template & creator community** — 30,000+ templates; creators monetize; consultants (200+ listed) help implement. ([templates](https://www.notion.com/templates); Zhao on creators earning) — **FACT**
- **In-product & email support** — Support via app / team@makenotion.com; refund policies published. ([pricing FAQ](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Customer Success (Enterprise)** — Dedicated CSM on Enterprise; advanced analytics tiers. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Ambassadors / consultants bridge PLG→enterprise** — Community experts often hired by larger customers for onboarding (GTM interview). — **FACT (interview)**
- **AI trial → upgrade path** — Free/Plus get Notion AI trial only; full Agent/Meeting Notes/Enterprise Search require Business+. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong**.

---

## 5. Revenue Streams

**Poster bullets (current plan names & prices — verify live page before printing final poster)**
- **Free — $0 / member / month** — Personal use; AI trial; basic forms/sites; Calendar; databases; limited team blocks & 5 MB uploads; 7-day history. ([notion.com/pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing), fetched Sep 20, 2026) — **FACT**
- **Plus — $10 / member / month** (annual list price on pricing page; secondary sources note ~$12 monthly billing) — Unlimited collaborative blocks/uploads/charts; custom forms/sites; basic connections; AI trial only. — **FACT** (annual rate on official page); monthly rate **SECONDARY** confirmation
- **Business — $20 / member / month** (annual; ~$24 monthly per secondary explainers) — **Recommended**; includes Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search (beta), SAML SSO, private teamspaces, premium connections. — **FACT** / monthly **SECONDARY**
- **Enterprise — custom** — SCIM, audit log, advanced security, CSM, DLP/SIEM connections, domain management, zero LLM data retention, HIPAA path. — **FACT**
- **Seat-based SaaS** — Charged per **member** (paid seat); **guests free** but page-limited. Mid-cycle seat adds prorated. ([pricing FAQ](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **AI consumption add-on** — **Custom Agents**: free to try, then **$10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits**. Workers Beta later consumes credits. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [product/ai FAQ](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**
- **Annual vs monthly** — Annual pricing highlighted on site; monthly available at higher effective rates (secondary). Encourages annual commits. — **FACT + SECONDARY**
- **Other monetization** — Template Marketplace is primarily creator-driven (community sells templates); Notion Solutions Partners earn via services/resale margins — not a clear Notion take-rate disclosure in primary pages reviewed. — **FACT** (ecosystem exists); **INFERENCE** that Notion’s core $ is seats + credits

**Note on AI packaging change:** Multiple 2025–26 explainers state standalone Notion AI add-on was retired (~May 2025) and full AI moved into Business+. Confirm vs current pricing page for poster. — **SECONDARY** historical packaging

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for official plan prices and credit pricing; **moderate** for monthly rates and historical AI add-on timeline.

---

## 6. Key Resources

**Poster bullets**
- **Product / IP** — Proprietary block editor, databases, sync/collaboration stack, AI Agents, Calendar, Mail, Sites; multi-year codebase rewrite (“notion-next”). ([Zhao blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you); product pages) — **FACT**
- **Brand & community** — Strong consumer/prosumer brand; 100M users milestone; creator/TikTok/template culture. ([100M blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you)) — **FACT**
- **Talent** — Design/engineering craft culture; ~1,000 employees (press, late 2025); global offices including APAC. — **SECONDARY** (headcount) / **FACT** (offices)
- **Capital & investor base** — ~$330M+ primary capital historically; cash-flow positive reported; 2026 tender at $11B with Sequoia, Index, GIC. ([Notion tender blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares); Forbes) — **FACT / SECONDARY**
- **Customer data & workspace graph (network-ish effects)** — Value increases as team knowledge, templates, and AI connectors accumulate in-workspace — classic SaaS switching costs. — **INFERENCE** (not a disclosed “network effect” metric)
- **Security & compliance certifications** — SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27701/27017/27018, etc., as enterprise trust assets. ([security help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy); Trust Center) — **FACT**
- **Acquired tech/talent** — Cron (calendar), Skiff (mail/privacy), Automate.io (integrations), Flowdash (workflow talent). — **FACT**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for product/brand/investors/compliance; **moderate** for headcount; **inferred** for network effects.

---

## 7. Key Activities

**Poster bullets**
- **Product R&D** — Continuous releases (docs, databases, Sites, Charts, automations); major 2025–26 AI platform work (Agent, Custom Agents, Workers). ([releases](https://www.notion.com/releases/2024-06-25); [product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**
- **AI model integration & governance** — Multi-provider / model-agnostic positioning; subprocessors; enterprise zero-retention; credit metering. ([product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT**
- **Sales & marketing** — PLG marketing + expanding enterprise sales; partner co-sell; content/brand. (pricing + GTM interview + press) — **FACT / SECONDARY**
- **Templates & ecosystem enablement** — Marketplace curation; certified consultants; Solutions Partner enablement/academy. ([templates](https://www.notion.com/templates); [partners](https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program)) — **FACT**
- **Security, compliance & trust** — SDLC, bug bounty, audits, data residency options, SIEM/DLP integrations for Enterprise. ([security help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy)) — **FACT**
- **Customer success & support** — Tiered support; Enterprise CSM; education programs. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT**
- **Geographic expansion** — APAC offices and growth focus called out with GIC partnership rationale. ([tender blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares)) — **FACT**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong**.

---

## 8. Key Partners

**Poster bullets**
- **Cloud infrastructure — AWS** — Application and customer data hosted on Amazon Web Services; physical security deferred to AWS; multi-AZ backups. ([security & privacy help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy)) — **FACT**
- **AI model / LLM providers (subprocessors)** — Notion AI uses AI subprocessors under contracts prohibiting training on customer data (unless customer opts in to Notion requests). Enterprise: zero retention APIs. ([pricing AI FAQ](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai)) — **FACT** (providers named publicly in product marketing as e.g. OpenAI/Anthropic in press for agents — treat specific vendor mix as evolving)
- **Productivity & chat integrations** — Slack, Microsoft Teams; Google Drive; SharePoint/OneDrive; Gmail/Outlook; Google Calendar; Jira; GitHub; Linear; Notion Mail/Calendar. ([AI Connectors](https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-connectors)) — **FACT**
- **Design / embed ecosystem** — Common embeds (e.g., Figma) in docs workflows (product capability / research). — **FACT** (embed platform) 
- **Investors** — Sequoia, Index, Coatue (Series C era), GIC (2026 tender), First Round, Felicis, others historically. ([tender blog](https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares); research summaries) — **FACT / SECONDARY**
- **Template creators & Certified Consultants** — Marketplace creators; 200+ consultants; Ambassador programs. ([templates](https://www.notion.com/templates)) — **FACT**
- **Solutions Partners (consulting & channel)** — Systems integrators, agencies, VARs/MSPs: implement, train, resell. ([partner program](https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program)) — **FACT**
- **Acquisition partners-turned-teams** — Cron, Skiff, Automate.io, Flowdash talent integrated into product roadmap. — **FACT**

**Evidence strength:** **Strong** for AWS, connectors, partners, investors named by Notion; **moderate** for exact LLM vendor mix over time.

---

## 9. Cost Structure

**Poster bullets (qualitative — exact $ breakdown not publicly disclosed)**
- **R&D / product engineering** — Core cost center for a horizontal platform + aggressive AI feature shipping; large eng presence implied by product velocity and ~1k headcount. — **INFERENCE** (category-typical) grounded in **SECONDARY** headcount
- **AI / LLM inference COGS** — Agent, Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search, Custom Agents consume third-party model APIs; credits productizes variable AI cost. ([product/ai](https://www.notion.com/product/ai); [pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing)) — **FACT** that AI is metered; **INFERENCE** that inference is a rising COGS line
- **Cloud infrastructure (AWS)** — Hosting, storage, backups, global availability, vector search embeddings (help center mentions Turbopuffer for connector embeddings). ([security help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy); [AI Connectors](https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-connectors)) — **FACT** (AWS); embeddings vendor **FACT** in help docs
- **Sales & marketing** — Expanding enterprise sales team (press: doubling sales), brand, partner MDF, education/campus programs. — **SECONDARY / FACT** (programs)
- **Customer support & success** — Self-serve support plus Enterprise CSMs and partner priority support. ([pricing](https://www.notion.com/pricing); [partners](https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program)) — **FACT**
- **Security, compliance & trust operations** — Audits (SOC/ISO), bug bounty, SIEM, MDM, training. ([security help](https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy)) — **FACT**
- **People / G&A** — Global offices (SF + APAC cities), talent density in design/eng. — **FACT** (offices) / **INFERENCE** (G&A share)
- **Profitability signal** — Reported cash-flow positive with cash > cumulative capital raised (late 2025 press) suggests costs currently covered by subscription (+ AI) revenue at scale. — **SECONDARY**

**Evidence strength:** **Moderate** overall (strong on *categories*; weak on *dollar amounts* — none fabricated).

---

# Poster-ready one-liners

**Canvas headline:**  
**“Notion — the AI workspace where teams build their tools, knowledge, and agents in one place.”**

| Block | Short label text |
|---|---|
| **Customer Segments** | Solo builders → students → startups → mid-market teams → security-minded enterprises (bottom-up) |
| **Value Propositions** | All-in-one docs, databases & projects + AI agents that work where your knowledge already lives |
| **Channels** | PLG website & apps · templates/community · partners · enterprise sales · integrations |
| **Customer Relationships** | Freemium self-serve · education & creators · consultants · Enterprise CSM |
| **Revenue Streams** | Per-seat Free/Plus/Business/Enterprise + Notion credits for Custom Agents |
| **Key Resources** | Block platform & AI IP · brand/community · talent · AWS + compliance · investor backing |
| **Key Activities** | Ship product & AI · grow PLG+sales · enable ecosystem · harden security |
| **Key Partners** | AWS · LLM providers · Slack/Google/Microsoft/GitHub… · creators & Solutions Partners · Sequoia/Index/GIC |
| **Cost Structure** | R&D · AI inference · cloud · S&M · support/CS · compliance (qualitative) |

---

# Sources (URLs used)

### Primary — Notion
1. https://www.notion.com/pricing — Plans, prices, AI/credits, FAQ (fetched Sep 20, 2026)  
2. https://www.notion.com/about — Founding philosophy / value framing  
3. https://www.notion.com/product/ai — Notion AI, Agent, credits, security claims  
4. https://www.notion.com/product/notion-for-education — Education segments & free Plus  
5. https://www.notion.com/templates — Marketplace (30,000+ templates), consultants  
6. https://www.notion.com/partners/solutions-partner-program — Consulting & channel partners  
7. https://www.notion.com/help/notion-ai-connectors — Integration partners list  
8. https://www.notion.com/help/security-and-privacy — AWS hosting, encryption, compliance  
9. https://www.notion.com/blog/100-million-of-you — 100M users (Sep 3, 2024); founding reflections  
10. https://www.notion.com/blog/gic-sequoia-index-purchase-notion-shares — $270M tender, $11B, AI ARR share (Jan 26, 2026)  
11. https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-calendar — Calendar launch (Jan 17, 2024)  
12. https://www.notion.com/blog/introducing-notion-mail — Mail launch (Apr 15, 2025)  
13. https://www.notion.com/blog/notion-acquires-cron — Cron acquisition (Jun 9, 2022)  
14. https://www.notion.com/blog/meet-skiff-the-newest-member-of-the-notion-family — Skiff acquisition (Feb 9, 2024)  
15. https://www.notion.com/releases/2024-06-25 — Notion Sites (Jun 25, 2024)  
16. https://www.notion.com/blog/first-block-with-ivan-zhao-simon-last — Founders podcast/blog (Mar 21, 2024)  
17. https://www.notion.com/customers/cursor — Enterprise customer story  
18. https://www.notion.com/customers/dana-indonesia — Enterprise/tool-consolidation story  
19. https://trust.notion.com/ — Trust Center (SOC/ISO references)

### Secondary — Press & research
20. https://www.forbes.com/sites/annatong/2025/12/15/notion-kicks-off-employee-share-sale-at-11-billion-valuation-as-ai-accelerates-its-growth/ — ~$600M ARR, AI share, cash-flow positive, $11B tender kickoff (Dec 15, 2025)  
21. Business Insider / CNBC Disruptor 50 coverage (~Sep 18, 2025) — ~$500M annualized revenue, ~1,000 employees, 100M+ users, ~90% multiplayer (via syndicated write-ups)  
22. https://techcrunch.com/2024/01/17/notion-launches-a-calendar-app/ — Calendar coverage  
23. https://techcrunch.com/2024/02/09/notion-acquires-privacy-focused-productivity-platform-skiff/ — Skiff acquisition  
24. https://techcrunch.com/2021/09/08/notion-acquires-indias-automate-io-in-push-to-accelerate-product-expansion/ — Automate.io  
25. https://techcrunch.com/2024/06/25/notion-sites/ — Sites coverage  
26. https://research.contrary.com/report/notion — Founding story, competition, business model synthesis (updated Jan 15, 2026) — use carefully for non-primary metrics  
27. https://sacra.com/c/notion/ — Third-party ARR/valuation estimates (label as estimates)  
28. https://www.akashbajwa.co/p/notions-journey-from-plg-to-the-enterprise — PLG→enterprise GTM interview (Robbie O’Connor)  
29. https://www.usecarly.com/blog/notion-pricing/ — Secondary pricing explainer (monthly rates / AI packaging history)  
30. https://www.cbinsights.com/company/notion-labs — Funding totals / secondary market listing  

---

# Research quality checklist

| Criterion | Status |
|---|---|
| All 9 BMC blocks filled | Yes |
| Claims grounded in URLs | Yes |
| FACT vs SECONDARY vs INFERENCE labeled | Yes |
| No fabricated ARR/valuation/headcount | Yes — only cited reported figures |
| Official pricing captured | Yes (Free / Plus $10 / Business $20 / Enterprise custom / credits $10 per 1k) |
| File path | `/workspace/notion-bmc-research.md` |

**Poster production tip:** Re-fetch https://www.notion.com/pricing the day you lock artwork — Notion has changed AI packaging and credit effective dates through 2025–2026.